>A really good energy posting – what should I study next?

>This article sent to me by my friend Geoff H., has interesting ideas about energy conservation. I don’t say I agree with all of them (why tax only imported oil? If you make US oil cheaper we’ll just burn it faster and then we’ll really be stuck!)

Sorry I can’t write more but I’m working on a couple good ideas. If you have a preference on which one I should be working harder, leave it in a comment. The ideas:

1. From the 18.5 cent federal gasoline tax, 2.86 cents of it is devoted to the mass transportation fund. How does this money get spent, and if it were increased, what should the increase be spent on?

2. Federal CAFE standards doubled the required fuel economy of passenger cars from 1974 to 1985. What happened after that? What were the “low hanging fruit” that enabled this transition? Where could we go from here?

3. WMATA recently was awarded funding to perform a Transit Emergency Study. What does the study entail and what are some starting points?

About perkinsms

I'm an engineer and father interested in transit, parking and economics.
This entry was posted in bleg, CAFE, energy, gas, meta, oil, transit, WMATA. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to >A really good energy posting – what should I study next?

  1. Geoff says:

    >Definitely CAFE standards. As I recall from a Newsweek article Obama proposed to increase CAFE to 50+mpg by 2025.The Clinton proposal was very similar and McCain was in favor of high standards but did not state numbers.In order to reach such targets will we be driving city cars on freeway or will the engines be dramatically smaller? Is there any hope for the pickup truck?

Leave a Reply

