>What’s the common thread of my politics?

>I’ve thought a lot about what my political views are, whether I’m a libertarian, a liberal, or anything in particular. I think Greg Mankiw’s column this week in the New York Times sums up a lot of what I believe. I’m an Economist, apparently.

A summary of the major positions of an Economist:

SUPPORT FREE TRADE…

OPPOSE FARM SUBSIDIES…

LEAVE OIL COMPANIES AND SPECULATORS ALONE…

TAX THE USE OF ENERGY…

RAISE THE RETIREMENT AGE…

INVITE MORE SKILLED IMMIGRANTS…

LIBERALIZE DRUG POLICY…

RAISE FUNDS FOR ECONOMIC RESEARCH…

I support almost all of these. I would add that I’m more of a Keynesian than some, in that I think the Government should spend money during recessions to reduce the downswing in the economy. I don’t mean by giving everyone a couple hundred bucks, I mean by building something that a lot of people use that they wouldn’t be able to build outside of government help, like transportation systems or sewage systems or the like. Natural monopoly kind of stuff.

About perkinsms

I'm an engineer and father interested in transit, parking and economics.
This entry was posted in budget, economics, fiscal, government, mankiw, politics, spending, tax. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to >What’s the common thread of my politics?

  1. Judd Wiley says:

    >That’s very similar to how I see things. Fiscally conservative, socially liberal, as much common sense as possible.John Ziegler, a former radio host in LA, has a good way of describing himself, that I tend to agree with as well:”More libertarian than conservative, more conservative than liberal, more cynical and skeptical than anything else.”

Leave a Reply

