>WMATA Ridership

>Residents of the DC area probably have noticed that fares went up about 20% this past January (my ride went from $2.70 to $3.20 each way).

It’s interesting to note that even with this increase in fares, ridership hasn’t dropped off. This is contrary to the public comments I witnessed when I attended the hearing in Arlington. Many folks stated that with a $4.50 parking charge and $4.90 each way, they’d stop riding from Vienna. Apparently, either they continued at the higher fares, or when they left to join the traffic, others took their place, because the parking lots and trains are still full.

Although it would mean more money out of my pocket, I’ll note that usually, when a company figures out its customers don’t flee under price increases, the price goes up even more. Besides, when have I been squeamish about advocating policy that takes my money? I just want stuff that makes sense. WMATA gets more money, the trains are possibly less crowded, and MetroRail gets ever closer to that magic number of 100% funded by fares.

Here’s the story:

WMATA Press Release

About perkinsms

I'm an engineer and father interested in transit, parking and economics.
This entry was posted in transit, WMATA. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

